fbpx
202-737-9311 | info@thrivedc.org
DONATE
ABOUT US

Prevent & End Homelessness

At Thrive DC, we are a safety net for people experiencing housing instability, food insecurity, and economic crisis. Our goal is to support and equip clients on their journey of achieving greater self-sufficiency.
"Thrive DC is a place I could call my home. They help me put my life back together. Here I was able to find opportunities, programs, clothing, and housing. Thank you for helping me when I needed help."

-Barbara, Thrive DC Client
ABOUT US

Our Story

Thrive DC began in 1979 as the Dinner Program for Homeless Women (DPHW), a grassroots response to the first major wave of homelessness on the streets of downtown Washington, DC

Thrive DC changed and grew over the years to meet the needs of our clients, and in 2008 we moved from downtown DC to the Columbia Heights neighborhood. With the big move, we also changed our name from DPHW to Thrive DC in order to better reflect our growing mission.

Thrive DC, in partnership with other non-profits and government agencies, strives to provide more comprehensive services to a historically underserved and vulnerable population with the mission to end homelessness in the District.
  • Mission

    Our mission is to end and prevent homelessness in Washington, DC by providing vulnerable individuals with a comprehensive range of services to help stabilize their lives.
  • Vision

    Our vision is for everyone in Washington, DC to have an equal opportunity to thrive.
ABOUT US

Our Team

Terrence Brown

Executive Chef
terrence@thrivedc.org

Christal Bell

Director of Administration and Finance
christal@thrivedc.org

Jessica Chavez

Coordinator of Health and Wellness Partnerships
jessicac@thrivedc.org

Vanessa Davis

Manager of Volunteer Partnerships
vanessa@thrivedc.org

Malcolm Ewing

Development Assistant
malcolm@thrivedc.org

Dionisio Miranda

Front Desk Assistant
dionisio@thrivedc.org

Gary Hines

Director of Partnership and External Engagement
gary@thrivedc.org

Jessica Herfurth

Development Manager
jessicah@thrivedc.org

Zoe Garber

Director of Programs
zoe@thrivedc.org

Shane Mulhern

Executive Director
shane@thrivedc.org

Sadie Fitzgerald

Communications Associate
sadie@thrivedc.org

Sean Wormsley

Senior Peace Officer
sean@thrivedc.org

Tony Marrow

Peace Officer
tony@thrivedc.org
ABOUT US

Board of Directors

Officers

Angela Thresher, President

U.S. Bank, SVP

Michelle Rindone, Vice President

Federal Government

Laurence Thompson, Secretary

Attorney and Consultant

Members

Synina Pugh

DC Government

Tracey Clarke Dalebroux

Family Health International

Amanda Palleschi

West Wing Writers

Sheena R. Gordon - Roberts

Alvarez & Marsal

Alexia Baillow

Capital One, Corporate Communications

Camille Martone

Jessica Rihani

Mindset

Whitney Beecham

LeaderFit

Emily Afzal



Eden Shiferaw

NVG, VP

Sunny Gupta

Edible Finance, Founder & Owner

Tristan Breaux

Tyson Foods

Bill Black

BillBlack Public Affairs Strategies, LLC

It takes a village.

We could not do our work without the support of our amazing community members and organizations!
1525 Newton St NW
Washington, DC 20010
(202) 737-9311

Client Hours:
Tuesday - Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM | 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Staff Hours: 
Monday – Friday
8:30 AM – 5:00 PM
GET HELP
Join Our Mailing List
chevron-down
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram