In the meantime, I have started to tell people that I’m a type of architect that designs outdoor spaces. Thank you for your post Alice, we have exactly the same issue here in Czech Republic. I find it ironic that a profession having such a large and beneficial impact on the public is so misunderstood. js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; Luís Carlos Borges Rodrigues The hardest thing to do is to get through the architects who are historically established so called design profession here and to gain their respect. The locus of landscape architects is, therefore, broader and not … I then let them know that we are called landscape architects but our work isn’t limited to planting design, and that the vast majority of us do not perform any construction or installation. I hope that significant progress is made to dispel its myths before too long. Craig – I agree that l.a.s aren’t any more important than those who do construction/installation. April 8, 2014, 5:23 pm. So now when I am referred to as the younger cousin who is an “architectural landscaper… you know, he’s the one that tells them where the trees go”, I just shake my head and laugh. It may be the same as your old one. A lot of this has to do with the way we describe it, though — See the second paragraph of my post. It hasn’t happened yet for me, but I believe it will happen before it’s all said and done. To be fair Alice, I have to confess we’ve had this conversation before here on L8 on a couple of different threads, so I was spring loaded and ready to snap after reading your first few sentences in your original post. Why Lonsdale Street is a Role Model for Urban Projects Around the World. Thanks for all the comments! I imagine that we LAs have bigger fish to fry as a profession. Landscape architects receive education and training in site design, historic preservation, and planning, as well as in technical and scientific areas such as grading, drainage, horticulture, and environmental sciences. Necessary cooki